This program is co-presented by the Korean Cultural Center New York as part of KCCNY's Open Stage 2018: Samulnori.




$16/$10 Members & Students/FREE for Teens







About Kim So Ra (band leader)


A multi-award wining Korean traditional percussionist, composer, and ambassador of Honam Province Jeongeup folk music, Kim So Ra is one of the most skilled and prominent Janggu (Korean double-headed drum) players in Korea. Kim is known for her genre-bending performances combining Korean traditional sounds with creative, charismatic and modern interpretations.


Kim is trained under the direct apprenticeship of human cultural asset Master Yu Jihwa. Kim has received eight 1st-place awards from major national music competitions since 2005, including National Nongak Master Competition, Gyeonggi Nongak National Competition, National Women’s Korean Traditional Music Festival, JeonJu International Sori Festival, just to name a few. These awards demonstrate her widespread recognition as one of the top Janggu players in Korea.


Kim is also a founding member of Korean traditional music group 'Duo BUD’ and electronic music band ‘nuMori’ in Seoul, South Korea.


In 2018, Kim has been selected as the only Korean artist to perform at WOMEX 2018, the World Music Expo, and 2018 Mundial Montreal World Music Market. 




Korean Cultural Center New York is proud to present 2018 OPEN STAGE: SAMULNORI, celebrating the 40th anniversary of the creation of one of the most popular Korean music genres performed on stage with over 10 performances throughout the year 2018, spanning across the Northeast US. Since samulnori both as a genre and performance group was established in 1978, it has sparked a renaissance in Korea’s music scene and gained worldwide acclaim. 2018 marks samulnori’s 40th anniversary as a new genre of performance art. Since 2011, KCCNY has held the annual OPEN STAGE public contest to provide a stage for selected talents from Korea and chosen locally to present their performances in New York. This year, a public contest was held to provide a platform for artists seeking to reinterpret, localize, and globalize samulnori inspired performances that exemplify the highest tier of both traditional and contemporary works. Special performances by one of the founding members of samulnori, Duk Soo Kim, as well as NYU's student team Rhythmic Impulse, show the range and breadth of the genre as well as its future. Learn More



Flushing Town Hall is a not for profit organization which receives major support from the National Endowment for the Arts; New York State Council on the Arts with the support of Governor Andrew Cuomo and the New York State Legislature; New York State Assembly Member Ron Kim; New York City Department of Cultural Affairs, Mayor Bill de Blasio; Queens Borough President Melinda Katz; Council Members Adrienne Adams, Costa Constantinides, Daniel Dromm, Barry Grodenchik, Peter Koo, Karen Koslowitz, Francisco Moya, and Paul A. Vallone; and the Howard Gilman Foundation, the Fan Fox and Leslie R. Samuels Foundation, and the Lily Auchincloss Foundation.


Support for our programs is also provided by Atlantic Philanthropies Director / Employee Designated Gift Program, Cathay Bank, Michael Cheng / Epos Development, Dr. Hsing-Lih Chou / New York Institute of Culture and the Arts, Con Edison, Crossings TV, Culture Center of TECO in New York, Heidi & Jonathan Davis, Exploring the Metropolis, Steven Facey, Jim Henson Foundation, Keith Haring Foundation, Kenneth Koranyi, Kuang-Yu Fong / Chinese Theatre Works, Barbara Garii, Heather Harrison, Raymond D. Jasen, Ellen Kodadek, Nelson Lee / Flushing Bank, Law Offices of Vincent Toomey, James S. Liao, Emily Lin / Lin & Loveall Foundation, Anita Liu, Louis Armstrong Education Foundation, Lyell Korea, Materials for the Arts, William McClure, NYC & Company Foundation, New York Community Bank Foundation, Northwell Health, Queens Art Education Center / Arthur Liu, Queens College, Queens Courier, Georgiana Reese-Benatti, RuDance / Asian American Dance Sport Corp., Mike Sperendi & Jan Schneider, Vincent Toomey, Mei Ya Tsai, Veronica Tsang, Claire Shulman, Tai & Tony Wang / WAC Lighting, Jay Wegman, Edwina & Eldwin Wong, Minwen Yang, and Hank Yeh.


This program is also supported by Ministry of Culture, Sports and Tourism; Arts Council Korea; and Korean Traditional Performing Arts Foundation.